Home > Shortstories:- Poetry > Ocular Acuity

Ocular Acuity

Let’s see…

With my eyes

I’ve seen strange things

As if orchestrated, happen

To all around inclusive of me

Murder, rape, burglary and the ilk

Bribery and the architect scot free walks

Rendering the law nude, unsighted and a jerk.

 

I’ve seen friendly faces

Wide eyed with white smiles

On you like a Kalashnikov

On the hand of a cadet

Set to varnish a terror guy

Ready at your service

Standing by to help you carry;

The mountain of a luggage on your hand

Willing to guide you through the maze of a hood

When stranded you are and lost

Ready to help in any way they can

No strings attached.

 

I’ve seen hate manifest itself

With legs of a gun

Hands of a machete

Lips of a stiletto

Eyes of a green-eyed monster

Saliva of venom

And a tummy so tough

To withstand its sordid acts.

 

I’ve seen innocence

Full of virtuousness

In form of a toddler

Toothless but verbose

So inquisitive to no satisfaction

Sprightly playful

With a sponge- like mind

To suck all in their environ

Crafty like a natural artist

But poor in keeping a nappy white.

 

I’ve seen best friends

Best friends with benefit

Best friends with basis; love

Best friends laugh… genuinely

And extending shoulders

For their pals to lean on

And shed tears on too

Best friends forever

Best friends parting

Torn asunder by an envious

And callus enemy; Death.

 

 I’ve seen time pass by

Anxiety meter reading ‘high’

“Why is it taking this long?”

“For how long will I have to wait?”

“When will I heal emotionally?”

And the biological clock dictating;

“When will your ring-finger be clothed?”

“When are the bundles of joy coming?”

When in trouble,

The pendulum’s swing stopping

When having fun,

Time boarding a jumbo jet.

 

I’ve seen bridges connect lands

And tombolos, islands and mainland(s)

Sweet words connecting souls

Coupled with tender actions

Apropos love

Music connecting artistes

And art, artists

Lips connecting too

In an art called kissing.

 

I’ve seen nature

Inspire awe and evidence

A Creator’s existence

The sunset and sunshine

Donning the skies gaudy

The greens of vegetation

Denoting life

Flora and fauna

Painting a mosaic picture

Of life for enjoyment.

 

I’ve seen the sun

Make love to the sea

I’ve seen period-sized seeds

Grow to enormous arbutus, oaks, baobabs …

I’ve seen the earth

Turned to a paradise

I’ve seen girls

Mature to women, but

Boys always remaining to be boys

I’ve seen my shadow

In darkness walking in Avalon

I’ve seen 3 Idiots

Motivate learning fellows

I’m yet to see aurora borealis

Lighting up the North

And aurora australis

Lighting up the South

I’ve seen a lot

And awaiting to seen

Even much more

I’ve seen you reading

And enjoying this piece.

By;

Categories: Shortstories:- Poetry
  1. March 10, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Oh yeah I have seen 3 idiot, and motivate it still does me!

    • March 12, 2012 at 2:52 pm

      It still does motivate big! Education should not always be everything…

  2. prezyack101
    March 26, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Found you on my comment section.
    This poem is thoughtful and leaves me with awe.
    I love it.

    • March 26, 2012 at 3:32 pm

      Thanks and I’m glad you like it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Thanks for your thoughts!

